Bagged at Target

Have you heard about Target’s recyclable bag policy? If you bring a reusable bag to the store, Target will give you a 5 cent discount for NOT using one of its plastic bags.It seems like a good idea to get people thinking about recycling. But it seems like Target employees are missing the point. I recently walked to a Target near my house, pushing my son in his stroller. At the check-out, I told the clerk I didn’t need a bag because I could just put my purchases in the bottom part of the stroller. Then she refused to give me the 5 cent discount because she said I wasn’t using a recyclable bag. What??!?

Apparently, I’m not the only one who thinks this is crazy.

2 Responses

  1. I use my recyclable bags all the time. I think they have to put the items in a bag for you to get the money off.

  2. Hadn’t heard this yet, Amy. Thanks for the tip! Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that personnel near the door might not be able to tell who has paid and who hasn’t – thus the items purchased must be contained in some type of bag (although she should have explained that and still given you the 5 cents).

    I had always thought it would be better for Target to make their bags out of something other than #4 plastic, since our local recyclers only take #1 and #2 plastics. Seems like the perfect solution to me – recyclable bags and “free” advertising for the store.

    The problem I have with purchasing the more cloth-type (reusable) bags offered at stores is that 1) I forget to take them in with me, 2) I feel somewhat paranoid that people think I’m “stealing” when putting items into the bag instead of a cart, and 3) my closet and car are now overflowing with cloth bags by my desire to be a do-gooder.

    Perhaps the best solution for me (and my husband might agree) is to just stop shopping! 🙂

Leave a Reply

