Good day today!

My morning started with a surprise visit from the President of Harris County Medical Society and a representative of the Texas Medical Association. They dropped by the station to present myself, investigative producer Brian Sasser and photojournalists John Barone and Jon Hill with an award for our “Swine Flu Family Guide” that aired last year.

Excuse the blurry photo!

Then I headed over to the Crossroads School in southwest Houston for a tour. I had the opportunity to emcee a charity gala for the school earlier this year. This was my first visit; and I am in awe of the work that the teachers and staff do. Crossroads is for children with learning disabilities. The student to teacher ratio in each classroom is 8 to 1.

My last stop of the day was to Hotel Za Za for an MDA event honoring the biggest givers in Houston. It’s called the Elite 50. The whole event had a speakeasy theme… so we all wore disguises. Thanks to everyone who contributes to the Muscular Dystrophy Association!

Hope your day was just as filled with good things and people!

5 Responses

  1. your blog’s design is simple and clean….

    Mind if I use some of the information from this post if I provide a link back to your site?…

  2. Thanks Amy for having us, and for a great story. Good to meet you all. HCMS and TMA are proud to honor you. If you need a contact in the future, here in Houston, feel free to call. Bill Gilmer

  3. Congratulations to you Amy and your team. you guys did a great job at that time and you deserve this honor.

  4. Great site. A lot of useful information here. I’m wil send it to my friend!

  5. Wow that is a great resource.. I’m love it.. good post

Leave a Reply

