The Price of Pie

I love pie! Creamy, gooey, delicious pie. The Flying Saucer Pie Company on Crosstimbers is definitely my favorite place to pick up a pie for Thanksgiving… but you’ve probably seen the lines. You pretty much need an inside connection to get hooked up with some strawberry pie if you don’t want to wait for hours in line. I was lucky enough to have the day off on Wednesday, but I didn’t have hours to wait. I had an errand to run over on Westheimer near the House of Pies, so I thought I could just swing by and pick up a “Bayou Goo” pie to take to my sister’s house today.  Swing by?? Ha! I kept on driving when I saw the scene below.

No Flying Saucer AND No House of Pies for Thanksgiving. Instead, I made a Double Layer Pumpkin Pie. Here’s the recipe:

Mix 4 oz. of softened cream cheese with 1/2 a container of cool whip, 1 tablespoon of milk & 1 tablespoon of sugar. Spread the mixture into a 6 oz. graham cracker pie crust.

Combine 1 15 oz. can of pumpkin, 1 cup of milk, 2 Jello-O Instant Pudding Vanilla mixes, 1 tablespoon cinnamon, 1/2 tablespoon of ground ginger & 1/4 tablespoon of ground cloves. Mix together. This mixture will be thick. Spread over the first layer in the crust. Refrigerate for 4 hours. When you’re ready to serve it, spread the other half of the cool whip on top. (I made real whipped cream for the top layer cause it takes so much better). Enjoy!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

It’s 9:07pm. I bet I could get a Bayou Goo pie now with no line at all.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

