Robo Calls Banned

This news must have slipped right past me last month… but now that I think about it, I can’t recall getting any of these annoying pre-recorded calls lately.

A new FTC rule bans robo calls unless the telemarketer has obtained permission, in writing, that the call’s recipient wants to receive the messages.

Telemarketers who violate the new rule face penalties of up to $16,000 per call.

The ban only applies to calls trying to sell or interest consumers in the sale of goods or services. Informationals calls are still allowed (like your kid’s school letting you know about a closure or an airline letting you know about a delayed flight).

Other calls not covered by the new ban are calls from politicians, banks, telephone carriers, and most charitable organizations.

If you receive any prerecorded telemarketing calls but have not agreed to get them, file a complaint with the Commission, either on the donotcall.gov Web site or by calling 1-888-382-1222.

One Response

  1. Hi, Amy –
    I don’t know if you can help me or not, but I don’t know who else to ask. I live in Angleton (we moved to Texas 3-1/2 yrs. ago) and I’ve always watched Dr. Phil at 3p.m. here. Since Dr. Oz’s premiere show, which is in Dr. Phil’s time slot now, there has been no more Dr. Phil! Where is he? With very few exceptions I’ve watched every episode for the past 7 years and I’m very upset that I can’t watch him now. Did your channel remove him? I’ve checked with DirecTV (which we installed about 2 months ago) and they say they don’t know why I’m not getting the Dr. Phil show. His was the only daytime show I couldn’t do without seeing, and now it seems I have no choice.
    A very unhappy viewer,
    Marilyn Hitterman

Leave a Reply

