Comparing Prices in the Store- There’s an App for That!

KPRC Local 2 Director Chad Simpson found a really cool new application for the iPhone (The T-Mobile “My Touch 3G” also apparently can use it) that lets you compare prices for any product with a UPC bar code.  You can watch  him demonstrate it in the video above. (Tilt yout head slightly to the left and you won’t even notice it’s sideways :))

All you do is hold the phone up to the bar code of any product.. and it acts like a scanner. Then your phone searches online for every internet retailer that sells that product. You can find out the lowest price before you throw it in your cart at a brick & mortar store.

The app is called “Red Laser.” It costs $1.99.

I, myself… am too cheap to splurge for the iPhone!

One Response

  1. Awesome app. I could see myself using it – IF I had an iPhone. But, overall, the mere thought of using a phone beyond real conversation just gives me a headache. I know. I’m old. 🙂

Leave a Reply

