Trading up to Keep Costs Down

The high cost of gas has many trading in their gas guzzling SUV’s and trucks for more fuel efficient vehicles.  I stumbled across a “Gas Guzzler Trade in calculator” on Edmunds.com that can help you decide if the new car you’re looking at will really save you money.

My Jeep sold to a guy in Huffman

My Jeep sold to a guy in Huffman

I’ve already made the plunge… I sold my 98 Jeep Wrangler and bought an 07 Honda CRV last year. According to the calculator, I save about $70 a month on gas, but it will still take me something like 270 months to break even for the money I had to shell out for a new car. That’s okay.  The Jeep was great for 8 years, but I was ready for a car with a real roof!

My new car (not the exact car- mine is black!)

My new car (not the exact car- mine is black!)

One Response

  1. Well Amy,
    How much can I save if I trade in my 4-Runner for a Toyota Hybrid Prius?
    I love my new vehicle, but I hate fueling up every week!!!

    Your faithful viewer,
    Mary B.

    P.S….I think my 4 runner can beat your CRV even on half a tank of gas!

Leave a Reply

