AT&T giving control back to parents

Call me old- fashioned, but I’m still amazed when I hear about parents who are buying their kids (as young as 7!) trendy cell phones with pricey plans that cover unlimited text messages and all the latest bells and whistles. My best friend tells me her 11-year-old daughter needs it to keep it touch between dance practice, school and play dates. I’m still not convinced.

It seems AT&T’s new “Smart Limits” plan was made for skeptical adults like myself. (Disclaimer: This is not a commercial! It’s a new product that some parents may find useful. I’ve never tried it. I can’t say first-hand!)
For $5 a month, parents can set up their kid’s cell phone accounts to limit minutes, texts and instant messages, purchases like ringtones and games.

But even better, parents can set schedules for when the phone can be used. AT&T sent us this audio clip. This is what your child will hear when he or she tries to make a call when they should be in school or when they call a number you’ve restricted:

Smart%20Limits%20for%20Wireless%20Voice%20Recordings_SPAN_04-12-07%20%282%29.zip

Your phone bill will look something like this:

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

